Scarcity of control

by

Before I forget: Wayne mentioned earlier today that, whereas we (being the privileged ones we are) have a growing abundance of so many things, the thing that is getting more scarce is … control!

That, I think, is very true for my own context as a university professor: content, bandwidth, processing power, communication links, support tools, … are all becoming more easily available. What is becoming really scarce is the amount of control I have over, for instance, my students: they work on more open ended projects, in a more flexible way, with more diverse resources, etc.

It’s a bit scary sometimes, but it certainly is A Good Thing. I think. What do YOU think?

Leave a Reply

